ISO Construction/Remodel, Farm Maintenance Couple - Come live Near Grayson Highlands/Mt Rogers VA - Mouth of Wilson, VA

ISO Construction/Remodel, Farm Maintenance Couple - Come live Near Grayson Highlands/Mt Rogers VA - Mouth of Wilson, VA

Posted: 10/9/2019 - 7:41 am

Seeking a Couple or Individual.  Have a Short-Term READY Need but also open to Long-Term Options as well.  This is an animal sanctuary and horse farm so a love of animals is a requirement.

Ever dreamed of the Appalachian Mountains, the backdrop of your daily life filled with green forests and stunning mountain vistas?  Want to hike the AT or visit Grayson Highlands and Mt. Rogers (Highest elevations in VA) stroll through the wildflower high mountain meadows where the wild ponies thrive or take a tube/kayak down the New River then follow the rails-to-trails paths on the VA Creeper Trail or New River Trail.  Take in the Bluegrass music and other old-timey festivals in the area.  Whatever calls you to this area, if nature and peace is what you seek then you are sure to find it in Grayson County VA!

About Us:  we are a family run 67 acre farm.  We operate a working horse farm and non-profit animal rescue off the property.  We also have several rental cabins, a tiny home, a rental rv and 2 apartments that all help bring in rental income to keep our way of life going.  We are looking to continue improving our rentals and farm setup, hopefully, in the near future have more unique options here for others to enjoy.  

What we Need:  
SHORT TERM - READY NOV1
---We need a couple or person who has quite a bit of construction experience to help finish an apartment in the barn to make it ready to rent asap!  Much has already been done (layout, framing, electrical and plumbing).  What we NEED is someone to come in and finish the insulation/sheetrock, build/lay the formica counter tops and hopefully help us lay a linoleum floor.  In exchange for 3 days a week work we can provide you with a very cute barn apartment OR if you have your own Camper/RV we would provide a hookup.  "The Crows Nest" is the apartment we can offer in trade at this time.  It has a king size tempurpedic mattress, love seat, queen sleeper sofa, office area, claw foot tub with shower option, bathroom, closet and kitchenette, Dish tv and Wifi, all Utilities provided!  The finishing of the apartment is our main need, if you wanted to stay on a little longer we would like to close up some run-in horse sheds before winter sets in too.

LONG TERM - open to other thoughts and options too
We would like to see a couple or person who would like to join us on a more permanent basis.  The duties required would be 3-4 days work per week.  Helping maintain the farm...fenceline upkeep and weed eating are the things needs most, some spraying of grounds and weed control, landscaping and cutting firewood for winters etc. Some horse stall and paddock cleaning. Helping with farm projects, remodeling and building etc.  Potential for a partner to clean vacation rentals and have ready for clients arrivals etc.  In trade we would provide a living space and utilities etc.  OR if you have your own Camper/RV we would provide a hookup.

Sorry, but due to others allergies here on the farm, Non-Smoker's only.  Sorry, no children (unless they are family visiting).  We would consider a pet but must be pre-approved.

We cannot provide financial compensation so you would need to be financially secure - there are options in the area for part-time work on the other days you are not required at the farm.

Looking forward to hearing from you! 

You must be a PAID SUBSCRIBER to view this job contact information. View your subscription options or if you are already a paid subscriber, log in.